Sullingstead is a grade II listed property, in Surrey. It was designed in 1896-7 by Sir Edwin Lutyens. Gertrude Jekyll worked alongside Lutyens on this property and designed the landscape and formal gardens which surround it. The property which takes its style from the local Surrey vernacular and the arts and crafts style is characteristic of Lutyens early work. The property was extended by Lutyens in 1903, and a neo-georgian ballroom was added.
Sullingstead is one of the earliest works of Lutyens. Some feel that Sullingstead was the first of Lutyens houses where intention and result coincided. It is a half-timbered design, with three haunched gables which poke forward. The main block is tile hung from top to ground floor. Lutyens characteristic chimneys can be seen in the design of Sullingstead.
Sullingstead, suffered the collateral damage that inevitably results from many changes of ownership, with consequent alterations diluting the changes made by Sir Edwin himself. The loss, for example, of major chimneys, staircases, fireplaces, main entrance porch and important garden walls. John Corrie (previous owner) along with his Architect attempted to return the house to its former character, re-constructing missing chimneys, fireplaces and so on. The Architect for this remodelling was Michael Edwards, who compared the photos of the current property with those published in 1913 by Country Life.
Liberty Rose Architects were initially commissioned to carry out a historical study and feasibility study for the owner of Sullingstead reviewing what potential projects the client could undertake at the property and for them to understand the unique history of the property.Further to this feasibility Liberty Rose Architects have been commissioned to work on a number of projects at Sullingstead, including the repair and alterations to the barns and the internal refurbishment of the Lodge.